Red Bird Espresso Recipe for Olympia Cremina

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Wichita

#1: Post by Wichita »

As a beginner, I recently got a used Olympia Cremina and bought some Red Bird Espresso beans to learn with. I would like to stick with a single lever pull rather than multiple pulls to minimize variables as I work on my technique and consistency. What dosage, extraction time, and yield do you recommend and why?

mgwolf

#2: Post by mgwolf »

I haven't tried Red Bird for many years, but the easiest way to use the Cremina is to loosen the PF slightly, raise the handle 1/2-to 2/3 (if water starts coming out, you've gone too far up), tighten the PF and slowly raise the handle the rest of the way up. Count 10 seconds and pull your shot. If coffee starts coming out before 10 seconds, you may not have ground fine enough. Pull effort should be modest but not horrendous.

The reason I loosen the PF before I raise the lever part way up is to avoid disturbing the puck with excessive vacuum caused by raising the lever. My shots are about 50 cc or so if I pull all the way down.

You also need to flush a couple of ounces (at most) before your very first shot to heat up the grouphead.

jwCrema
Supporter ❤

#3: Post by jwCrema »

Your tastes may like something different, but here is what I do on Redbird

Using RPavlis water - 1 gal of Crystal Geyser with .37g KHCO3 added. Better taste, eliminate scale issues.
Extraction time: 35 to 40 secs. Not shorter or longer, just somewhere in this range.
Pre-infuse: 5 seconds for early out of the bag beans to 10 seconds for fully ripened/end of the bag.
Dose: 17.5g is max, 15g is minimum. Try a shot at min and max to decide which you prefer.

Don't worry about crema, that isn't where the taste is. I.e., more crema does not equate to "more better" taste.

As Michael said, your prep/warm up routine is key to a firm lever first shot. There are plenty of posts about that.