Post maintenance advice needed.

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
MAXTHEDOG

#1: Post by MAXTHEDOG »

Hi All,
Bit of an essay so TLDR:
Is the arm in the correct place, and if not how do I get it back.
I'm a novice Europiccola owner, I forgot to replenish the water in the tank and had a bit of an 'incident' with the shower screen. Before I'd noticed the lack of water and resistance in the arm there was a 'pop' and the shower screen had partially dropped from its usual place.
So, turned it off let it cool and rather than grapple with the group still on the boiler I removed the arm and the two bolts and took the group off. Got the screen and the gasket out. Cleaned the both up, checked the gasket and put them both back in.
While I had all this out I noticed the pipe that sits in the boiler had a few threads showing so I screwed it in until there were no threads left showing. All back together, arm on and test. No problems with temperature and pressure but I seem to need to do more than one pull now to get up to the mark on the glass as per the pictures below.
They show the arm post all of the above at its highest and lowest points of travel and the pressure gauge and the test shot after the two pulls.
I'll add that the pressure and temp are immediately after the green neon light went off. I'm assuming that the control pressure 'stat turning off.
Any advice and guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Michael.

Michael
LMWDP #758.

ei8htohms

#2: Post by ei8htohms »

If you removed the piston from the grouphead, you may need to adjust the height of nut/limiter at the top of the piston shaft. There are videos online that can show you how to do that so that you're getting maximum travel from the piston when pulling a shot (you wanted it to be able to just kiss the shower screen when all the way down).