Olympia Cremina... with two interchangeable groups?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
pcdawson

#1: Post by pcdawson »

A few threads ago, I relayed a sad and sorry tale in which the hero (yours truly) suffered the loss of an SL group at the hands of a villainous courier company (whose name I won't mention as it is now triggering for me). After "calming down to a murderous rage", I ordered a manual Cremina group with pressure gauge. Low and behold...... the SL group was eventually located and returned to me! I've been using the manual group for the last 3 months and today decided to switch the group back to the SL. What fun !! A totally different yet somehow complimentary experience. I am now trying to decide if I should keep both groups or sell the SL group and stick with the manual.

My question - does it make any sense to hang on to both groups - the idea being to switch them out every once and a while for sh$&!ts and giggles? The wife seems confused by this idea.........

JTom

#2: Post by JTom »

By all means, keep them.

Advertisement
pizzaman383
Supporter ❤

#3: Post by pizzaman383 »

I say keep it. I have both a manual and spring setup for my lever. I switch them up every six months or so and enjoy the difference.
Curtis
LMWDP #551
“Taste every shot before adding milk!”

Boldjava

#4: Post by Boldjava »

The wife seems ...
Always keep your wife and at least one espresso maker. I have had the privilege of sharing life with the same woman for 52 years and as such, I have shared the wonderful cups of cortados from the Cremina with her for 12. She is the biggest fan.
-----
LMWDP #339
★ Helpful

pcdawson (original poster)

#5: Post by pcdawson (original poster) »