Olympia Cremina vs. La Pavoni Europiccola with same coffee

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
nummnuts

#1: Post by nummnuts »

I have recently finished a relatively simple rebuild of an Olympia Cremina from my friends attic. I've been using a La Pavoni Europiccola for many years but have heard so much about the Cremina I was eager to try it.

I know most people will stop right here but I use preground espresso from Trader Joe's. I am saving up for a grinder but in the meantime...

I am able to get a decent espresso from the La Pavoni with the TJ's espresso. I had to mess around at first but I get a decent crema and for the espresso I am using it is pretty damn good. I cannot get a decent espresso from the Cremina with the same espresso. I have adjusted the pressure. I took it apart again to make sure the seals on the piston are installed properly. I've adjusted the amount of coffee I put in.

The problem seems to be pressure. On the La Pavoni if I over pack the portafilter I can be barely move the lever. On the Cremina no matter what I do I can't seem to get it to a point where I have to exert much force to move the lever.

I would like to be able to get as good an espresso from the Cremina as from the La Pavoni while I am figuring out the grinder. So if you've read this far I understand that I need to get a grinder but any suggestions on what I am doing wrong or what could be wrong with the machine?

Thanks!

armindillo

#2: Post by armindillo »

There is some information missing.
When you have coffee in the Cremina and move the lever down, are you getting out liquid?
If not, it sounds like the seals are not sealing or there is some other pressure leak in the cylinder or you are not even getting water into the cylinder.
To check if you're getting water into the cylinder, just lift up the lever when you don't have the portafilter on but the machine is pressured up.