Olympia Cremina Shot - Feedback needed

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
nix27

#1: Post by nix27 »

Hi all,

Please give me some feedback on my shot technique. Grinds were 15g.

Thanks!!!

<missing video>

forbeskm

#2: Post by forbeskm »

That is a pretty machine!

I do a later lockin, I start the portafilter in the grove then slowly lift the handle until it starts to fill and then I lock. You have to be careful or you could send hot water everywhere. Or you can pump more at the top to get it to firm up. I usually do the latter with my Cremina.

I dose 17 grams in a Richard Penny Portafilter and elektra basket.

Your shot looked nice. How did it taste? Do you want more volume?

nix27 (original poster)

#3: Post by nix27 (original poster) »

Thanks Mike.

I will try to lock later. Shot tasted pretty good actually. I'm not a pro at taste, but I had some that were much more bitter or sour and this one was pretty balanced (or smooth comparatively). I wouldn't mind a bit more volume. I do a lot of Americanos as well, so volume there wouldn't hurt.

naked-portafilter

#4: Post by naked-portafilter »

Hi Ian,

Nice couple on your counter :-). I use Elektra double basket also and dose 18,5g. Shot volume fluctuates between 36-42g. I let preinfuse the coffee puck with the boiler pressure only (for 8-12 seconds). I start the pull very slowly till the first drops in the cup. I lift the lever back (slow again) and make a full pull.

For better temp control I use a temp strip on the group. I couldn't make a decent espresso without anymore :-).

weebit_nutty

#5: Post by weebit_nutty »

I don't see any problems. As long as it tastes good you're doing it right :)

Now, goes without saying if you alter your technique you can get different results, for better or worse.
I find that slowing the flow down towards the end reduces blonding and leads to a better shot. Try it.