Olympia Cremina losing pressure due to piston seals?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
chopinhauer

Postby chopinhauer » Mar 07, 2018, 4:38 pm

Well, this issue's got me stumped.

I've been using Creminas 73 and 2011 models for 12 years and before that my 1980 Europiccola for 10 years and never has this issue occurred or been mentioned in the forums to my knowledge. It relates to the 2011 Cremina, which I've been using for the past 6 years.

Basically, for the past 6 months every few shots, so intermittently, the lever has no pressure when pressed down pulling a shot; this despite the pressure gauge reading .8 bar (and the fact that I have already run water through the group and it seems to gush out normally). What happens is that after lifting the lever and holding for 15 seconds I push down and there is little resistance and no water/coffee comes out. Them I pump the lever a few times until I feel it 'bite' and eventually a long thin watery shot comes out. These shots always look and taste terrible and always result in a watery puck and residual pressure left over at the portafilter when I release it; viz. portafilter 'sneeze'

In other words, the lever every once and while simply doesn't 'bite' when pushed down. There is no resistance. So what I have tried to rectify this?

My first thought was scale was blocking the inlet hole in the group thus preventing water from coming out. And yes the machine did need a big descale which I performed carefully and thoroughly. Now the water really gushes out when the lever is raised with no portafilter or an empty portafilter, but the abovementioned problem still remains. I used proper descaling solution, not citric, so the actual scale is dissolved so it can't still be there potentially blocking the inlet hole or even the feeder tube from boiler to group. (More on the 'feeder tube' below).