Olympia Cremina bitter espresso

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
drH

#1: Post by drH »

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to my cremina and I've read almost everything in these forums about pulling shots on the lever. When I get it right it's brilliant but I frequently get bitter or muddy shots and I'm having trouble diagnosing it.

I'm using a Bplus Apollo and Morettino beans (so it's a blend possibly roasted many weeks (months?) ago. The beans smell wonderful and I've made some great espresso with them.

When shots come out dull/bitter I've tried shortening my preinfusion (to 6 seconds), grinding coarser (dosing higher), and this is an improvement but the lever pressure I apply is relatively light and I can tell this is still not the best result from these beans, which are heavenly hazelnut when done right.

Is it possible I need to manage temperature better? Is there a better process to follow to bring out a bit more freshness/acidity? Or maybe I'd be better off starting new with very fresh beans to get my technique on track?

Any thoughts would be helpful.

Beezer

#2: Post by Beezer »

If the beans you're using are more than a few weeks past their roast date, then it's going to be very hard for you to get good results from them under any circumstances. I'd suggest getting some fresh roasted beans from a good roaster and going from there. Otherwise, you'll just be chasing your tail trying to get any consistent results.
Lock and load!

Randy G.

#3: Post by Randy G. »

^ What beezer said.
Espresso! My Espresso! - http://www.EspressoMyEspresso.com
LMWDP #644

RockyIII
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by RockyIII »

drH wrote:Is it possible I need to manage temperature better?