New Olympia Cremina owner.

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Dev

#1: Post by Dev »

I haven't posted in a while. Im still the proud owner of a LP Stradivarius that I have been using religiously since 2014.
I wanted to upgrade to a Cremina a few years ago but would stop short because of the price and because of the reviews that it won't make a better cup than what I have. Also the La Pavoni is a conversational piece that has beautiful aesthetics however I have a love hate relationship at times with the boiler to base gasket loosening up and a few other quirks like poor steaming performance compared to other machines.

Anyway I decided this year I want to entertain my curiosity and take on a fun project. If I don't like it I would just resell it for what I put into it and get most of my money back. I did a lot of searching here to know what I was getting into so I know what to buy beforehand and I didn't want to overpay, but at the same time I wanted a good example to work with. I bought a 1981 version for $900 with free shiping which looked good from the pictures and was given a reassurance from the seller that everything works. From the pictures it seemed good but I figured if there was something wrong with it I would return it since EBay gives me some assurance that if its not as described I have some recourse.