New Flair 58 user needs HELP

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Riken49

#1: Post by Riken49 »

I'm new to espresso at home and dove into a Flair 58. Long story short: water just flows out and doesn't achieve pressure above 2 bars. I got a different grinder to obtain a finer grind, the Kinu m47 Classic, and the problem persists. I started grinding at 1.7, then 1.2, and then decided to ask for help. Thanks!

Ken5

#2: Post by Ken5 »

Some questions...

When were the beans roasted? Do they have a roast date, or a use by date?

What dose are you using?

Riken49 (original poster)

#3: Post by Riken49 (original poster) »

Bought the beans from a bulk container about 3 weeks ago, by a nearby roaster I've enjoyed for years. Dose was 18 g first try grinding at 1.7, 20 g second try with grinder at 1.2. No real change in outcome between those two. Roast is dark.

fred1968

#4: Post by fred1968 »

In my few months experience with this a few things I observed if no pressure or low pressure.

a.) age of beans (but in your case this shouldn't be an issue)
b.) puck preparation (sometimes how heavy you tamp makes a difference)
c.) quantity of beans ( I stick to 18g but sometimes 17.5 depending on beans)
d.) the grind size (usually this the common culprit I observe), not familiar with the kinu but in my DF64, same beans batch opened within a week or two can vary from setting 10 (course) to 4 (finer)...

It is a frustrating experience but in time you'll overcome these issues..

Good luck !

Ken5

#5: Post by Ken5 »

When it comes to freshness espresso is different than other methods. What is a bulk container? Are they stored in a barrel and you scoop the quantity that you want? Does it have an actual roast date? Is it stored in a somewhat airtight container?

Lambert likes coffee

#6: Post by Lambert likes coffee »

Hello Riken49,