Need advice re: Eric's Thermometer kit for Olympia Cremina

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
genecounts

#1: Post by genecounts »

There's two weeks worth of reading on here re Eric's fantastic work thru the years on many machines. I would like to hear specifically re Creminas. He does have a kit and I just ordered it.

As a newbie my weakness in using this old lever to fullest potential is temp control. Seeing the heat progress on the temp strips has been a trying part of my routine. Hard to see the faint blue sometimes. Eric's thermometer seems the perfect answer.

Have been following Tekomino's thread very carefully past few days on "Cremina Advice". Lots of experimenting to do here.

Any advice you could give in this respect is very much appreciated. Specifically on where to place thermometer and do I need to modify anything to place thermistor.
Doug and Barb mailed my Cremina out yesterday and I'll be jumping to the PO after this holiday weekend.
Thanks!

tekomino

#2: Post by tekomino »

Erics thermometer is what I use all the time even though I have strips installed. I have it placed on the back part of the group somewhere in the middle. No mods necessary, easily reversible, unless Eric changed something, but you'll get nice instructions with any kits he sells. You'll see... :D

genecounts (original poster)

#3: Post by genecounts (original poster) »

I emailed Eric re thermometer placement. His reply to me was "anywhere but on the group", in his opinion.
He seemed hesitant to recommend because he does not have Cremina.

I had seen a pic somewhere of someone's thermometer being placed at top in front of group just above yoke. I really liked that location. If placed there you can eye the pull and view the dial simultaneously without darting back and forth.

erics
Supporter ★

#4: Post by erics »