LMWDP Rollcall - Page 240

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
domo

#2391: Post by domo »

I use a mesh filter by bplus for the zacconi grouphead (Zacconi Riviera and both machines by Sama) but not in the Faemina. I tried it but it made no difference.

Edit: the lever on the Gaggia Factory was custom made. As far as i remember Coffee Sensor also got some.

poison

#2392: Post by poison »

I've been making espresso at home since around 2003, starting with a Gaggia, then Silvia, then Expobar, and for the last 12 years, an Astra Pro (with accompanying grinder upgrades along the way, currently a Fiorenzato Doge conical). The Astra is a GREAT machine, and punched way above its weight; I abused it heavily, serving many groups of 40-60 people, and only in the last year or so did anything fail. It was good enough to stave off upgrade-itis, mostly because I felt I'd have to spend $3-5k to buy a machine that brewed better espresso (and if it doesn't, why upgrade?). My search coincided with the Micra release, and I always thought an Elektra A3 or La Cimbali Jr would be high on my list, but things move fast, my search led to levers; someone hit me up Sat, and this happened yesterday.

I got home late, and only had a chance to pull shots of a very good decaf Honduras, but....wow. Immediately apparent difference, both my wife and daughter noticed it in milk drinks too. So cool.

Cuprajake

#2393: Post by Cuprajake »

I had the original londinuim l1, which is sold and ended up with the lr24 for a short while. Very short

I now have an acs Evo leva

poison

#2394: Post by poison »

I had my last E61 HX for 12 years. I don't see the londinium having a shorter stay.

FotonDrv
Supporter ♡

#2395: Post by FotonDrv »

Cuprajake wrote:I had the original londinuim l1, which is sold and ended up with the lr24 for a short while. Very short

I now have an acs Evo leva
Is the ACS Evo Leva a better build quality?
That Light at the End of the Tunnel is actually a train