LMWDP Rollcall - Page 229

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
redbone

#2281: Post by redbone »

So this isn't the support group? Thanks Jonathan. Do like the look and build of these early LPE but prefer the early 70's model functionality with removable sleeve, sight glass screw and switch off option. This 68 will spend more time in show mode than go mode.

The sleeve came off fairly easily once the sleeve tool was ground on it's inside to fit. Had greater issue screwing back with some mild grinding required on the outside of the sleeve which must have expanded over the years and heat cycles. Special thanks to Nelson (a.k.a.) crazy4espresso for his tool and insight.
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

MtChuck

#2282: Post by MtChuck »

Hello LMWDP,

I have been roasting at home with a Behmor 1600 plus for many years and my second Gaggia Classic died back in January I prefer straight espresso, no milk drinks. I decided an ECM Classika was the next machine for me. They were on a nearly endless backorder. So, I kept my self busy searching CL....

I found this 1995 2 Group Astoria / Mr Espresso Lever machine, 120 volt and in immaculate condition. Apparently was originally purchased by a church and not rolled out very often. I will integrate it into our kitchen, but for now it is in my studio perching on a tool box. The first shot was really wonderful. I thought I might be up for a long dial in process, but the lever gods have been kind. I am in love.

A few photos attached.

I believe this has Bezzera brew groups?

LMWDP #690

Advertisement
Balthazar_B

#2283: Post by Balthazar_B »

Wow, what a great 25 year old machine. Looks like new!

Do you have its dimensions and weight?
- John

LMWDP # 577

MtChuck

#2284: Post by MtChuck »

John-

It is around 150 pounds. 27.25" w x 20.5" d x 29" tall to the top of the levers.