LMWDP Rollcall - Page 225

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
debuggr

#2241: Post by debuggr »

I have been pulling shots on my Londinium 1 since January 2015, with about a year-long hiatus as I recovered from a stroke. :oops: I am fortunate to have recovered pretty well.

I have been tempted by other machines over the years, but I find myself only wanting machines that allow enough manual control to mimic the lever profile, which ... well, why get a non-lever machine then?

Over time I've found my tastes have evolved to prefer light roasts, and I'm considering the R24 but I don't see myself getting a non-lever machine anytime soon. I know I'm in good company.
LMWDP #684

bcrdukes

#2242: Post by bcrdukes »

Hi Folks,

Long overdue, but figure it's time I join the LMWDP club.

So my story begins on a trip I went on to Austria in 2006 upon working with a fellow from Austria. He encouraged me to visit his native country so my first stop was Salzburg. The hotel I stayed at offered free breakfast, and to my surprise, offered espresso as their "coffee" pulled on a lever machine by an older gentleman. He carefully pulled the shot, and never had ever seen a lever machine before I was amazed.

The taste, flavour and mouthfeel was by far, one of the most amazing espressos I ever had. I never found out which blend of coffee they used, and I didn't care - I wanted more. But back then, I was young, dumb, and ignorant, so I didn't care or wanted to know enough about this machine. All I knew was it was a small lever machine boxed in red. It wasn't until 2010 or so was when I started to build an interest in coffee, picking up a Rancilio Silvia, but from that point onward, I had been lusting over this magical machine.