Lever plus Another

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Iconicred

#1: Post by Iconicred »

Hi Fellas,
I wonder how many of you here have a lever (manual or spring or whatever else in between) plus another non-lever machine?
I am interested in your opinions and thought processes about how you ended up with the machines you ended up with.

For context, I have a Rocket Appartamento and I am happy with the milk drinks it produces and I am getting better at dialing in straight espressos. No complaints. I use a Faustino grinder (50mm flats by Eureka) and I have a WW Key about to arrive. I recognize the grinder as very important. I am now thinking about widening my experience and adding a Lever. I have considered machines like CT2 and Cremina to Argos to Flair.

What did you get first, how did you decide what to upgrade to if indeed you did, or did you nail it with just 2 purchases?
Thanks!
Justin

Kaffee Bitte

#2: Post by Kaffee Bitte »

I work as a barista so I use commercial machines at work all the time. At the time I bought my first machin and grinder it was a serious stretch to get the funds together for the e61s. About the same time I fell into the lever forum and not long after bought a La Pavoni and a Macap m4. The manual lever was so different from the commercials I was using it just looked like a blast. And I was not wrong. So much better than pressing buttons. You feel everything as feedback through the lever. Sight, sound, scent, touch, and taste. Big time sensory experience. The learning curve was high but once past it I could make better shots at home than I could pull with work machines.