Lever machine with most single pull volume?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Red West

#1: Post by Red West »

Hi, I'm a newbie trying to decide on my first machine.
I'm thinking of going with a lever machine, the main thing that I'm concerned with is the shot volume.
The idea of doing two pulls or 1.5 pulls seems to be scary.

Is there a machine that will do a full double with one pull? Or is there a machine that is easiest to perform a second pull?

Thanks!

CRCasey

#2: Post by CRCasey »

I guess the real question here is how much do you want out of a single pull?

And is the machine you are looking at able make that in a single pull?

Is that single pull giving you the taste you want?

There is more than one yank on the lever to look at.
Black as the devil, hot as hell, pure as an angel, sweet as love-CMdT, LMWDP#244

roastaroma

#3: Post by roastaroma »

Ciao Red,

Among home levers, the Gaggia Achille is one of the very few that use a standard 58 mm PF, and as the video "Classico" on this page indicates, you can get a pretty big shot from it:

Gaggia Achille - Videos

However, it is worth noting that the Achille has been phased out in Europe and may not be available in the US much longer. I'd put it down to the leakage complaints -- however, that's not a deal-breaker for those skilled at DIY repairs.

Happy Brewing,
Wayne
"Non è la macchina, è la mano."
LMWDP #223

Bluecold

#4: Post by Bluecold »

La Peppina has a nifty valve system for double pulls and one of the larger single pull volumes. Something like 40ml iirc, but i've never measured it by myself. Never got to it, never found it really interesting.
LMWDP #232
"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death I Shall Fear No Evil For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."

peacecup

#5: Post by peacecup »