Lever espresso machine designs

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Zlobny_leshiy

#1: Post by Zlobny_leshiy »

Hey everyone. I studied different styles of lever espresso machines and I just can't understand one thing. All of them have the water inlets in the cylinder exposed at the very top of the piston travel and I can understand why. The pressure won't build up as there are holes on the bottom of the pressure chamber.

But here's the thing. As we lift the piston air comes through the puck of coffee into the chamber and as the water comes in it wets the puck making it some kind of airtight and all the air is locked in. Then, as we push the piston down the air is compressed and when it gets to the filter basket and all the water is out it should be released with this specific noise. Why doesn't this happen?

I am trying now to design a lever machine that has a valve in the piston which opens when we pull the piston upwards thus letting the water above it in the cylinder. I don't know if anyone had attempted such design. Maybe it doesn't worth all this work and the existing designs just work perfectly as they are?

Phaedrus

#2: Post by Phaedrus »

This is how the La San Marco group works.

Advertisement
Zlobny_leshiy (original poster)

#3: Post by Zlobny_leshiy (original poster) »

Thank you for your reply.

pizzaman383
Supporter ❤

#4: Post by pizzaman383 »

If wyou filled from the bottom with a manual lever the water would probably push the lever up to tell you when the cylinder was full.
Curtis
LMWDP #551
“Taste every shot before adding milk!”

kalo925

#5: Post by kalo925 »

"as the water comes in it wets the puck making it some kind of airtight and all the air is locked in. Then, as we push the piston down the air is compressed and when it gets to the filter basket and all the water is out it should be released with this specific noise."

"all the air is locked in" - I don't think that is the case at all.