Learning on used La Pavoni Europiccola

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
davidig

#1: Post by davidig »

I am new to espresso, but not new to coffee and im thinking about buying a used La Pavoni Europiccola. The owner thinks it is from the 70 or 80 and they say it is good working order except for a bit of leaking. They are willing to replace the gasket and sell it for $200. So my question to the group is, is this a good machine to learn on (I know manual is more difficult but I like a challenge). Second question is, are there anythings i should look for or test when i see the machine?
thanks in advance.
David

rpavlis

#2: Post by rpavlis »

The Europiccola (and La Pavoni Professional) underwent serious changes between 1970 and 1990. The first and most important is the group. The type in use from 1974 to 2000 is dramatically different from what came before and after it. The earlier machines tend to present difficulties finding repairs, etc. Some regard them as antiques, but when maintained they are excellent, again in my opinion. The group of the 1974 to 2000 is attached to the boiler by two bolts and is much easier to remove than the earlier type.

I suspect it is most likely one with a 1974-2000 group. If you look inside the base the date of manufacture should be there somewhere!

There are some other changes. Before 1978 or so the heating elements screwed onto the boiler directly. These are unobtainable today, but there are things that can be done to replace them. After that there is a flange that screws onto the bottom of the boiler, and screws hold the element to that.