La Pavoni Professional - Restoration

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Santi

#1: Post by Santi »

Found myself a fun quaren-project! I'm new to these La Pavoni lever machines, but have always wanted to play with one. This one is showing some signs of wear. Planning to start by cleaning it up and rebuilding the group and go from there. Thought I'd share some pics for interest sake, and maybe solicit some advice from you all. :D

The only visible date markings are on the 1000 W heating element (06-03) and the pressure gauge stem (07-04), but it's a pre-millennium group, right? Must have been replaced later?

A few more shots that might narrow down date of manufacture.

Probably played too much "spot the difference" as a kid, but does the hole pattern in this lever indicate it was installed upside down? Also note the threads are gummed up. I suppose it was just an ornamental nob up there. Has anyone tapped this to add a brew pressure gauge, a la the Esperto?

Advertisement
homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

Yes, your lever is upside down. It's pre-mil and has had the element, thermoswitch, pressurestat, and gauge replaced. The cap, base, sightglass cover, and on/off switch are indicative of a '84 - '90 model - http://www.francescoceccarelli.eu/La_Pa ... 87_eng.htm

It looks like it was probably leaking steam underneath for a long time, causing heavy rust. Hopefully can be cleaned with a wire brush on a drill, or maybe electrolytic cleaning (per Saving lever espresso machine bases with serious rust ). Then treated/painted (POR-15 is often recommended).
Pat
nínádiishʼnahgo gohwééh náshdlį́į́h

Santi (original poster)

#3: Post by Santi (original poster) »

Appreciate the info, homeburrero! Have about $140 in parts on the way. This will be fun.

In the mean time, wire brushed:

POR-15 on the bottom and drip tray:

Found steel wool took the years of grime off easily while preserving the chrome plating:

Al_Mahka