La Pavoni Professional Gen2 - Newbie very confused!

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Rospresso

#1: Post by Rospresso »

Hi,

I recently refurbished my in-laws' ca. 1982 LP Professional - new seals, thermal fuse, thorough cleaning - and more recently still performed the water-heated grouphead modification with the stopper and the small hole in the dipper tube. I am completely new to espresso and have learned all I know so far (not much!) on this forum.

The problem: I can't make a good coffee and I'm running out of things to try! I'd be so grateful for any pointers. Here is the data/setup:

-Ca. 1982 LP Professional with new seals and water-heated grouphead mod (IMS shower screen)
-1.1-1.2 bar boiler pressure
-Baratza Vario-W+ (2022 steel burrs) grinding between 2M and 3F (anyone else using this grinder?)
-Medium-roast coffees from Central America (Guatemala and Ecuador) primarily, within 3 weeks of roasting
-13.5gm doses with the original double basket, aiming for 26-28ml shots
-15-20 seconds of pre-infusion (rarely see any drips)
-20-25 second pulls after pre-infusion
-90-95 C on the grouphead temp strip (positioned at the front of the bell)

The shots I am getting are sharp and unpleasant, acidic, occasionally with undertones of espresso. There is very little crema. I'd guess they're under-extracted but I don't know enough to know for sure. Pulls vary between squishy and brief to extremely firm. There is always one small dent in the top of the puck near the water inlet but otherwise pucks usually seem OK.