La Pavoni Professional can't foam anymore

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
lmolter

#1: Post by lmolter »

After buying our La Pavoni Millenium Professional last year, I replaced the 3-hole steam wand head with a brass single-hole. Amazing difference, and I've been using it twice a day for the last six months. Great micro-foam. Recently, I've 'lost the touch' so to speak because I cannot get micro-foam anymore. I get soap bubbles or just hot milk. All along we've been using whole milk, both organic and supermarket non-organic. Could it be something as simple as the milk? I'm trying to think if the last batch of organic foamed ok, and I think it did. However, its taste changed when it was hot and conflicted with the coffee taste. Made it kind of nasty. I went out and bought plain old Borden's (USA) and have been using that. And I think that it may be the problem.

But ... when I dump the false pressure from the wand, water comes out with the steam, and it seems to come in spurts. I no longer get a constant steam stream. Should there be spurts of water always coming out of the wand with the steam? I don't mean a stream like a WaterPik, but steam-spray-steam-steam-spray and repeat. And I don't recall if this is normal.

Have I forgotten how to micro-foam in my old age (withheld), or is something degrading? Descaled recently but did not let the solution into the wand. We have soft, filtered water, so there wasn't any scale to begin with, but I did it anyway because there was a yellow tint to the water coming out of the wand when it was flushed. And it smelled metallic. Not anymore, though. Well, maybe a little yellow but no smell. Any thoughts?

SeekingGodShots2

#2: Post by SeekingGodShots2 »

Here's some suggestions: