La Pavoni Europiccola boiler plastic ring removal

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
PikesTNT

#1: Post by PikesTNT »

Hi

Newbie here so Hello and apologies if this is an old question. I did search for an answer but may have missed it

The base plate of my 2006 La Pavoni has rusted through, which exposes the electrics to warm coffee - not good!

I've bought a new base but need to transfer everything across, including the boiler and its retaining ring. As luck would have it, the boiler retaining ring is the plastic type. Before I get the big hammers out...

Is there a replacement brass ring available with the same thread (coarse) as the plastic ring? Or do all brass rings have the fine thread?

You can see where I'm going - I need to remove the ring and transfer it to the new base. But it may break as I try to remove it. Hmm.

All advice gratefully received

Thanks in anticipation,

Chris

PikesTNT (original poster)

#2: Post by PikesTNT (original poster) »

Well, I drilled a row of holes in the ring, enlarging then until I'd fully split the ring. I then levered it apart with a big screwdriver. Despite some sealing material sticking it to the base, it came free of the base fairly easily.

A quick call to the espresso shop revealed a coarse thread brass replacement ring. It's not advertised but if you find the fine brass ring, the notes below say to add a comment with your order, specifying the coarse thread.

Now all I've got to do is fit it all back together

ziptie

#3: Post by ziptie »

The boiler ring is one of those components that LP toyed with, switching to plastic for a period and then returning to metal. They did this with the piston too. Good move changing to the brass. Plastic was a poor choice for a piece that needs to be significantly torqued to prevent boiler loosening.

My '04 LP had the plastic piston (which cracked), but had the brass boiler ring.