La Pavoni Pro - Channeling Help

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
sgtsassafras

#1: Post by sgtsassafras »

I am a new La Pavoni Pro user (post-millennium model, brand new) using a Niche Zero grinder. I am consistently seeing channeling to the left side of the portafilter. This occurrs on both the standard and bottomless styles - in fact on the standard it only comes out the left spout, never both. Here is my workflow:

Beans: 14g, Kicking Horse Smart Ass
Portafilter: Double Bottomless
Grind Setting: Niche Zero 18
Distributor: WDT & Leveler set to 8 mm
Tamping: None

I get pretty decent crema, but clearly something is wrong. A setting of 18 on the niche seems light (20 is the start for espresso) - but if I go up a setting or two it chokes. Perhaps the leveler is too deep - but I am not tamping so I figured this would be a good setting based on finger press testing the basket.

Anyone have suggestions on changes to make?

ojt

#2: Post by ojt »

The Pavoni spouted portafilter is notorious for distributing coffee unevenly, but you might just not have the grouphead level. This is the most common (IME) reason for coffee coming out from either left or right side. It is quite easy to level the grouphead, I use a small electricians bubble level and carefully align the grouphead. I wouldn't necessarily call that channeling though. Channeling you would see as spritzers or bulging out of the bottomless portafilter.

The narrow range in grind setting instead may be due to very dark and/or stale beans since the grinder should be OK. I don't know the coffee you're using but it does seem quite a dark roast.. do you know the roast date or is there only a best before? In case you don't know the roast date I would recommend getting some fresh medium to medium-dark roast.
Osku

sgtsassafras (original poster)

#3: Post by sgtsassafras (original poster) »