La Pavoni boiler question

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
toolate

Postby toolate » Aug 01, 2018, 3:57 pm

I descaled my boiler with citric acid solution a while back. Most of the white scale is gone (still a few places with some) but I am concerned about the appearence of the boiler and wondered if the forums experts would have a gander at these two photos of my boiler to see what is up...the photos represent just a bit different lighting.
THe greeniish discoloration on the upper walls is?
The blackened area? Pitting? Scale?

THanks for any advice !

ojt

Postby ojt » Aug 03, 2018, 3:10 am

Hi,

I'm no expert, but I have a brand new Pavoni and the boiler looks a bit like that. A non uniform brownish, with varying degree of darkness.

From what I've read this should be normal, but it is also said that descaling with citric might remove a natural protection the copper creates for itself (when oxidizing, I guess), and possible lead to further corrosion. Just google up copper corrosion and oxidation and you will find a lot of information.

All-in-all, yours to my eye looks good. But, let's see if someone more expert will chime in :)

P.S. I guess one could polish the boiler from the inside :) Not sure how useful that would be though.
Osku

toolate

Postby toolate » Aug 04, 2018, 2:42 am

Thanks! Anyone else with more boiler experience want to weigh in here please? :?:

IamOiman

Postby IamOiman » Aug 04, 2018, 8:26 am

I have a 1991 Brass and Copper Professional. Here is my boiler from the top before and after I descaled with a citric acid solution. My result is a copper sheen on the side, though the brass flange appears to be similar to your sides. How long did you immerse your boiler in your descaling solution for? I have mine soak for 2-3 hours after heating up the machine then turning it off.

ojt

Postby ojt » Aug 04, 2018, 4:31 pm