Izzo Alex Leva PID Usage

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
JohnW

#1: Post by JohnW »

Hi folks. I'm new to HB and this is my first post. Just got delivery on an Izzo Alex Leva. Machine is a work of art and I can't wait to use it. I've been reading the included manual, trying to prepare/educate myself on using the Leva while waiting for an electrician to help me get in my 20amp line. So, to keep this brief - can anyone help me find something useful to read to find out how to set/change the PID controller? I've never used one before and the page in the manual covering the PID is totally useless to me. I would be happy to include a picture of that page, but I can't figure out how to do that. Thanks for any assistance. JohnW

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Welcome to HB John!

I've had a Leva for a few years now. It's an excellent machine. The easiest advice is to dial in the PID to the temp that gives you the steaming performance you like, then, secondary to that, if you like darker classic Italian style roasted espresso blends, aim for the lower side of this temp. If you're and acid head, wanting brighter snappier shots, aim higher. It's not much more complicated than that.