How to keep Cremina basket in when dumping puck?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
TheBlacksmith

#1: Post by TheBlacksmith »

OK, I am currently using some alum tape wrapped around the basket to keep it from coming out when I dump the puck... but isn't there a better way to dump the puck (without burning your fingers holding the basket in place)?
Is there another basket that fits better?

Thanks

F.M.

#2: Post by F.M. »

Don't own a cremina, but pavoni levers have the same "issue" :D Which I now see as a "advantageous feature"!

Get used to moving your thumb over the edge of the basket before hitting the knockbox, to keep it in the PF. Seems weird at first but becomes a habit fast. I've been doing it this way for 6 months and have yet to burn my thumb.

I'm now in the habit of knocking the puck out this way, then rinsing the basket out under cold water and towel drying quickly in between shots. A clean, cool & dry basket creates a better seal with the coffee puck, as opposed to a hot wet dirty basket. I also find this set up stays much cleaner than the press-fit baskets I was used to with pump-driven machines.

espressme

#3: Post by espressme »

I use the tip of my index finger to just barely hold the basket in the pf and then back hand it onto the knockbox. I quickly learned to watch what I was doing. :oops: Some folks use a hammer and center punch or nail to put three tiny dings in the inside of the basket to make bumps on the outside which make it tight in the pf. Do not poke through the basket. Use a small hammer and then lightly tap them back if they are too tight.
The poster above is right about the stuff that may accumulate on the bottom of the basket if it is not cleaned occasionally. I clean mine after use.
-Richard
richard penney LMWDP #090,

yakster
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by yakster »