Faema Faemina Baby

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
mpdeem
Team HB

#1: Post by mpdeem »

As a proud new owner of a Faema Faemina Baby, I think a thread devoted to using this lovely lever machine is long overdue.

I was lucky to get a Faemina in excellent condition from a fellow forum member which made for a lovely introduction. Despite being a lever novice, I was able to get good shots from the first attempt. This seems to be a very forgiving machine, yielding quaffable coffee even with the improper grind or rushed extraction. Even with too finely ground coffee resulting in a rather choked up leaky extraction - the resulting coffee was surprisingly good. I have come to the conclusion that the Faemina Baby is almost idiot proof - which makes it perfect for a luddite like me ;)

One thing that has stood out for me is how sweet and smooth the resulting brew is, utterly devoid of any bitter or overly acidic notes. Even when using too much coffee or too fine a grind, the resulting coffee remains quite sweet and free of bitter over extracted type flavors.

The Faemina seems especially well suited to fruit forward higher acid coffees in that it balances the acidity (without muting it), allowing the more nuanced flavors to come forward. I had a cup of Aida Batlle's Natural Process Finca Kilimanjaro that was almost candy like, with black & red raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, figs & hint of tamarind.

Now that I have had some time to play around with my Faeina - I have decided perhaps it is time to develop my technique (shoddy as it is). I would love to hear from other Faemina Baby owners. Feel free to share your techniques, tricks, and secrets. Below are some issues I suspect need fine tuning on my part:

- portafilter. Preheated, literally stored in hot water alongside tamper/lid thingy until use (high technical term)