Elektra Microcasa a Leva with scary boiler pressure issue

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
nile13

#1: Post by nile13 »

First, let me say that I'm a complete newbie when it comes to lever machines. I've used a Silvia for the last 2 years and have somewhat decent shot but decided to try a lever. Bought a used 1983 Elektra and tried for the first time today. The seller assured me that seals were changed recently by a professional shop in NYC and that machine has worked very well for them.

Issues:

When machine started warming up water was dripping significantly from the bottom of the grouphead and from the seal between grouphead and boiler. The dripping subsided somewhat, but it kept dripping.

After 3-4 minutes the pressure started rising from 0 and continued to go up until it pegged out beyond 3 bars. At this point I got scared and turned the machine off.

Pressure dropped in about a minute. I turned the machine back on and bled the rest of the pressure slowly through steam wand until it showed 0.

Turned steam wand off. The pressure rose within a couple of minutes or less to 2+ Bar and kept rising.

At this point I've turned the machine off in sheer terror. I have a nasty feeling that pstat might be stuck and this thing can simply blow up. What am I missing here? I'm beginning to think that as much as I like this machine it might not be for me. Help the newbie, please!

The pressurestat under the machine looks like this:

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

For those following this thread, Mike cross-posted the same question on CoffeeGeek here.

Back to the OP, it sounds like the pressurestat is stuck. Given its age, it would not be surprising if the pressurestat contacts have welded themselves together. Stefano's EspressCare sells replacements: MATER pressurestat (note the model has changed over the years but they're compatible).