Elektra Microcasa a Leva weak steam problem

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
SimonPatrice

#1: Post by SimonPatrice »

Hi,

I have been using my 1996 Microcasa a Leva for about two months now with no problem. But tonight, the steam coming from the steam wand is really weak.

Here's what happened. This morning, I made a cappuccino with good steam pressure. I then turned the machine off. A couple of minutes later, I turned it back on and tried to steam some more milk and the steam was really weak. I thought it was because the machine had been turned off before so I just left for work.

Tonight, the machine had been on for about an hour when I tried to steam some milk and it was still as weak. The pressure indicator still indicates around 1.2 bar when at full presure (it shows around 0.1 when turned off). I made some coffee and it seemed to be working fine. The only clue I might have is that I often have the tiniest leak at the steam knob when I turn it on.

Any pointers?

Thanks!
Patrice
LMWDP #428

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

Did milk clog the holes in the steam tip? Try clearing those holes with a pin.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

CafelatStore: home of Cafelat products online
Sponsored by CafelatStore
SimonPatrice (original poster)

#3: Post by SimonPatrice (original poster) » replying to drgary »

That's what I thought too but even after clearing the holes it didn't change anything.
Patrice
LMWDP #428

drgary
Team HB

#4: Post by drgary »

When's the last time you descaled? Scale may have broken loose to clog the steam valve or wand.
Gary
LMWDP#308

#5: Post by SimonPatrice (original poster) » replying to drgary »