Commercial direct (manual) levers?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
jdempsey

#1: Post by jdempsey »

Hey guys, I've been wanting a commercial lever for a while, but after having a few home levers over the years, I've come to love the control and versatility of the direct/manual (non-spring) levers.

Which, if any, non-spring commercial levers were made that I should be keeping my eyes peeled for?

Obviously converting a spring machine is a possibility otherwise, but I figured I'd look toward machines that were originally not spring-assisted first, and see what catches my eye.

I dig the art-deco and/or industrial styled machine, as opposed to the more opulent silver and gold embellished machines traditional styling. Prefer something that takes 58mm baskets, if that's an option. Power source (electrical or gas), space, even parts aren't much of a concern (I'm a machinist with a fully equipped shop), just whether I can find something I like, for semi-palatable prices.

Anyway, thanks for any info!

dominico
Team HB

#2: Post by dominico »

As far as I'm aware there has never been a commercial lever without a spring.
It would not work very well in a commercial environment since the barista would have to pay 100% to the shot every shot. Also, the wider the piston radius, the more force required create adequate pressure against the coffee.

You could try to convert a spring to a manual if you want, it might be a fun project. I would imagine you'd want to greatly increase the length of the lever to give yourself more of a mechanical advantage against the wider piston.

Or learn to love the commercial spring lever. They do feel quite different than a home spring lever, and give you a lot more manual control than you'd think if you've not had the chance to use one yet
https://bit.ly/3N1bhPR
Il caffè è un piacere, se non è buono che piacere è?

drgary
Team HB

#3: Post by drgary »