Bezzera Strega long delay in vibration pump start

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
FinnLight

#1: Post by FinnLight »

Hi there,

I have been using our Strega for 6 years and just doing basic maintenance on it (cleaning, lubrication). I have de-scaled the machine once few years ago. The issue I have is that the pump start has started to become erratic. Sometimes it starts immediately after lever is pulled down, but then other times it takes 6-10 seconds. This morning it took 30 seconds to start so something is definitely not normal.

It does not seem to be a low-water sensor issue as that would also remove the heating element. Has anyone ideas from where I could start to debug this?

-Mikko

Marmot

#2: Post by Marmot »

Hi!

I'm not sure but it might also be a problem with the solenoid valve. If you are able to you could open the machine and take out the pump to test it.
Here is a thread about your problem I just found:
Bezzera Strega pump not engaging

FinnLight (original poster)

#3: Post by FinnLight (original poster) »

Thanks for the tip! It seems they did not come to a conclusion on the issue and fix.

I also get this very silent humm before the pump engages similar to what was described in the thread. The pump could be going bad, but as it brews completely normally once it starts I am not sure if this is the root cause.

Marmot

#4: Post by Marmot »

This sounds like the solenoid is going bad. On the Strega I think it is normally open to the boiler and has to be activated to let water into the group.
If you could open the machine and test the pump you should see if the pump has problems starting on its own.
You could also test if the solenoid immediately opens when you supply it with power.
But only do this if you are safe working with strong currents.

#5: Post by FinnLight (original poster) »

I opened the machine today and may have found the issue.