Bezzera Strega cannot stop heating

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
frankzs

#1: Post by frankzs »

Hi all,
I have been using strega for two years. One day last month, after the machine was turned on, it seemed to take longer to heat than before. When I felt that it was about to complete the startup process, the sound was louder than before, and white smoke came from the top of the machine, and there was a burnt smell. I was busy with other things at the time. After about two hours, I wanted to use it. I found that the power light was on, the yellow light was off, and there was a lack of water in the water tank. I refilled water, but the machine has no response, pump did not startpressure gauge shows 0, neither the steam switch nor the boil water switch responded.
I pulled down the lever and the pump started, and the water was hot, but soon the water temperature dropped.

I cut off power, opened the case, reset the temperature controller, and used a multimeter to measure the thermostat. It was fine, but the heating elements was burned out.
Later, I cleaned the two water level probes and now the water pump has restored water supply.

I judge that it may be due to a problem with the vacuum valve, causing the pressure to never reach the set pressure. The heating elements keeps heating, and finally the water is consumed, and the heating elements overheats and burns out.
But actually I am not sure whether the white smoke is coming from the vacuum valve or the safety valve.
Even so, I removed the vacuum valve and replaced a new o-ring seal inside.

I have ordered a new heating elements and have not received it yet, in the meantime I hope to find out what is causing the heating elements to keep heating.
I found the circuit diagram of this machine from the Internet.