*Attempting* to Service my Neighbor's Olympia Cremina

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
w3agle

#1: Post by w3agle »

Long story short, my neighbor learned I liked espresso and pulled his Cremina out of his kitchen cabinets and told me to play with it. It had clearly never been serviced so after a week of having fun with it I pulled the group head apart. I've watched tons of videos and been super cautious along the way. Now that I'm putting it back together it seems that I've done something wrong!

This machine was purchased from Cerini coffee in roughly the past 10 years (SN: 25.0582). I haven't seen any videos of people working on a Cremina that has the same internals as this one. I'm still pretty new to the game though so maybe I haven't looked hard enough yet.

When I pull the lever up I get an absolute deluge of water coming out of the shower screen. And then if I release the lever it's like the piston is pressed back down by pressure above it. The most likely thing I can think of is I have done something wrong with the piston seals allowing the water to get up behind the piston. I purchased this from orphan espresso: https://www.orphanespresso.com/Olympia- ... _5722.html

Step 14 of these instructions tells you which way to orient the channel in the piston seals (top one channel goes up, bottom one channel goes down). I wish I had taken a picture, but I'm 99% sure this is the way I put it together. The rings in the photo do seem more substantial than the ones I received, but they're still from orphan espresso so they should be good. https://www.orphanespresso.com/Olympia- ... 549-1.html

The only leak is a persistent drip from the shower screen while heating up. Does this give us any indication of what's going on?

imgur album with some random photos:

caeffe

#2: Post by caeffe »

w3agle wrote:Long story short.......