The Arrarex Caravel - Page 237

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
gravy

#2361: Post by gravy »

Small oring experiments on my caravel adventure continue...

I now have two working caravels, and one of the lids has a pid probe which works very well.

I recently ordered an incomplete caravel for parts to play with (I want to build the pid into the body and have fantasies about making the tray into a scale).

I measured up the small oring that came with this early version machine and perhaps it is an original seal. It is 1.5mm cross section and 5mm ID.

This is different from the 2mm X 4mm that Francesco and everyone recommends.

Perhaps the small oring shredding problems relates to this. I no longer have big problems with shredding as I probably use lower pull pressures than when I was a beginner. But my orings do still come out badly damaged even though they are still holding pressure. The inside edge of the oring shreds against the inside of the hole as they get pushed down.

...could it be as simple as we are all using slightly out of spec orings, maybe due to availability problems?

I have ordered the minimum quantity ( 15 ) of this new size from the oring store - viton rubber 75. I will let you all know how it goes.

AE

#2362: Post by AE »

To make that clear:
The little auberin PID works like a charm. It is holding temp exactly on the value you choose. I just tried to optimise the heat up period. Bit 10 Minutes are fine anyway.
So I think for the price it is a very convenient tool and you can pull your shots any time you want. Also back to back.

pbarclay

#2363: Post by pbarclay »

Gravy - I had the same issue and posted the results of a brute force investigation where I tested different o-ring materials. The result was that all Viton o-rings of different hardnesses and profiles that I tried shredded. I had much more success with a buna one.

armindillo

#2364: Post by armindillo »