ACS Vesuvius Evo Leva - Page 53

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
jeffpresso
Supporter ♡

#521: Post by jeffpresso »

How often should we be servicing the lever group? Should we grease it, change gaskets/seals at some frequency. The owner manual didn't touch on that.

espressotime

#522: Post by espressotime replying to jeffpresso »

i've been using the same seal for almost 10 years. I cleaned my screen an bottom of the piston every three weeks or so.
Pulled the group out for a quick clean-up every three months.

jeffpresso
Supporter ♡

#523: Post by jeffpresso »

espressotime wrote: i've been using the same seal for almost 10 years. I cleaned my screen an bottom of the piston every three weeks or so.
Pulled the group out for a quick clean-up every three months.
Do you use the molykote Dow-111 Food Safe Lubricant to lubricate the group, or just clean it?

NelisB

#524: Post by NelisB »

After taking out the piston and wiping the cylinder wall I always re-lubicate the cylinder with Molykote. And also the piston seals.
I replaced the main piston seal with the green Viton one from Nuova Ricambi.
I had a lot of trouble with the original one. Water coming from the top of the group. With the Viton one it's perfectly sealed.

jeffpresso
Supporter ♡

#525: Post by jeffpresso »

NelisB wrote: After taking out the piston and wiping the cylinder wall I always re-lubicate the cylinder with Molykote. And also the piston seals.
I replaced the main piston seal with the green Viton one from Nuova Ricambi. image
I had a lot of trouble with the original one. Water coming from the top of the group. With the Viton one it's perfectly sealed.
When you had trouble with leaking, was it dripping from the outside or just through the shower screen?

Also, how much lubricant do you use? I've never done the maintenance, sorry if that's a basic question.

NelisB

#526: Post by NelisB replying to jeffpresso »