1980 La Pavoni Europiccola - Where to start?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Jetpac

#1: Post by Jetpac »

So, i'm going to preface this with the fact i am a complete novice. I have been using an Aeropress for some years and I have been looking try espresso at home having recently picked up a Rok GC Grinder and get something like a Gaggia machine, Rok or a Flair but i spotted a La Pavoni Europiccola on Facebook marketplace for under £100 and i have seen they have some espresso provenance so i kind of went on a whim and bought it! It has now arrived and to be honest I'm not entirely sure where to start or even if i've got a good deal or not!).

I have done some research into it and have a few ideas but was after a bit of guidance first as i know it will need some work/refurbishment which i am not necessarily worried about doing myself.

Things I know (or at least think i do!):

• It is from 1980 (has 80/2 written on the base under the rubber
  • It works - It heats up
  • There is a leak around the boiler cap
  • Nothing comes out of the steam wand when the valve is opened
  • The rubber is starting to degrade on the front right (a few very small cracks and a small tear on the base).
  • There is a small amount of horizontal wobble in the lever arm (i dont know if this is normal)
  • There seems to be very little rust (apart from maybe some spots on the lever arm?)
  • What i'm assuming is the pressure release valve appears allows steam out constantly when heated (there is the sound of steam being released kind of like a boiling kettle)
  • It came with a basket and a screen that i have no idea what they are for (pictures in the link)
I have taken some pictures (i will attach a few here and the rest in a link)

Things that i think I need to do/want to do:
  • Replace all the gaskets (but i am unsure of what kit to get/where/how much is reasonable to pay)