Who has tasted the authorities' coffee? What is it like?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
luca
Team HB

#1: Post by luca »

I look around to see what useful resources are around every now and then and it looks like in the last ten years we have seen a lot of writing emerge that purports to use science to explain what we can and should do.

I majored in chemistry and found final year organic chemistry one of the most challenging things I have attempted in my life. Whilst my friends were complaining that they had two hours of lectures for law subjects, I would spend 25 hours in a lab to synthesise and analyse just one compound. One of my friends who studied with me went on to complete a pHd; I remember reading one of the posters that he prepared for a conference, which included a sentence in a footnote that said something like "we examined 267 analogous proteins, but none showed the same binding activity". I asked him how much work that was. He said that two or three people worked on that over about three years and all that it merited was a single sentence in a footnote. So you'll forgive me in being sceptical as to whether published coffee "science" is as rigorous as actual, hardcore, professional pHd scientist science.

Of course, there is a very easy way to judge the usefulness of what the coffee authorities are writing - what does their coffee taste like? Does it taste good?