Scale Calibration

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Mochamaker

#1: Post by Mochamaker »

I've been playing with espresso for 15 years now. I have never calibrated a scale. Should I buy some calibration weights and do it?

Dan

danetrainer

#2: Post by danetrainer »

Probably not depending on the scale, it's resolution and how accurate you need the results. You don't say what brand of scale you have, but you can google weights of common items to place on your scale to see if it's close.
One common test is with coinage and a US nickel is designed to weight 5 grams.
I just put one on my Acaia Pyxis scale that I have the resolution set to hundredths of a gram and it measured 4.96, I tried my Lunar that is set to tenths and it displayed 5.0g.

BPlus: turning your coffee spirit
Sponsored by BPlus
Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

I calibrate all of mine with a graded weight. I often find them off by 0.5 g or so at 500 g. It is mainly for consistency across scales.

I would suggest an M2 or better weight. They aren't very expensive. https://labbalances.net/blogs/blog/guid ... on-weights for details of the various grades.

BaristaBoy E61

#4: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

Before purchasing a calibration weight, which I would recommend, first check to see that your scale has a option of calibration. Not all scales have a user calibration mode & option.
"You didn't buy an Espresso Machine - You bought a Chemistry Set!"
★ Helpful

jpender

#5: Post by jpender »

A scale error of 0.5g at 500g is 0.1%. If you're weighing out 20g of beans that's an error of 0.02g or about 1/7th of a typical coffee bean. That's probably less than the scale precision.

I never calibrate my scales for coffee.