Impressions of an absolute newbie w/ espresso

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Clay

#1: Post by Clay »

So I did my shopping and research and bought a machine. All of the equipment arrived and the ancillary supplies. Bluntly the machine has been here since Tuesday, but I didn't want to try and wing it and waited until I could read through the manual and do things right.

I ran over a gallon of water through the machine just playing with the controls. Then I had to set up the grinder which took longer than I first anticipated but the journey was worth it.

A couple of things that surprised me that I haven't ran across in my two plus months doing research.

The portafilter was more difficult to get into the brew head than I imagined on my new machine. I did find a nice video by Gail at Seattle Coffee on the reason for this: New gasket that will compress over time and become easier. But this challenge was a shocker to me. I had not seen a single video talking about this prior to my struggles with the new machine. Most videos that I see, the barista puts the portafilter into the brew head like they could do it in their sleep. My experience is a two handed, bent over upside down trying to find the right spot, but also the angle of the "handshake" between the two parts was not intuitive for ME. It is definitely a learned, educated process.