How To Make The Best Coffee, According To Science [VIDEO]

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
baldheadracing
Team HB

#1: Post by baldheadracing »

From the SciShow channel, so not a joke. The video is about how to get to the best coffee. 13:46 long.

I learned a lot.
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

BaristaBob

#2: Post by BaristaBob »

baldheadracing wrote:From the SciShow channel, so not a joke. The video is about how to get to the best coffee. 13:46 long.

I learned a lot.

video
Thanks, I enjoyed the vid. As a research scientist my whole working career, it's no wonder my hobbies of racing sport cars and home espresso carried over into retirement. The plethora of variables, whether independent or dependent, support the kind of challenge I just love!

Note: So when she said, more even extractions were noted at 15g vs. 20g and using a coarser grind...doesn't that create a fast flow extraction problem?

Also as a side note, Alton Brown did a Good Eats episode on best methods for cold brewing...quite interesting.
Bob "hello darkness my old friend..I've come to drink you once again"

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

The paper referred to on the various sweet spots for espresso and reducing variation by grinding coarser is covered in an actionable way at https://strivefortone.com/2020/09/19/lo ... -espresso/

The published paper is available at https://www.cell.com/matter/pdfExtended ... 19)30410-2

yakster
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by yakster replying to Jeff »

Also known as turbo shots.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

another_jim
Team HB

#5: Post by another_jim »

As an anecdotal observation, I wonder if this is due to changed roasting styles for ligher roasts, especially the move to air or convection roasting.