How to improve coffee beyond "good enough"?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
mgrayson
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by mgrayson »

Greetings, fellow coffee lovers.

I've been pulling shots since 2007 when, due to a forced vacation, I wanted to answer the simple question "Why was the worst cup of coffee I had in Italy better than the best cup of coffee I'd had in the U.S.?" That quickly led me to this site, and I've been a VERY happy member ever since. I have never been limited by equipment or bean quality. The only thing that needs improvement is me.

I've never learned anything well without a teacher, colleagues, or fellow students who could listen, explain, critique - in short, help. The advice "go to a good coffee shop and see what it should taste like" - well, I've listened to a lot of Horowitz recordings, and it didn't make me a better pianist. Whereas a good piano teacher did wonders (that and 25 years of hard work...). Ditto Mathematics (my profession). Ditto photography. But coffee? Videos will only get you so far (and not very far at that!)

I make coffee for friends and family. The response is always positive. So that doesn't help. Is it good enough? Maybe.

How did y'all get to the point where you knew what you were doing - where the phrase "how does it taste" was actionable?

Thank you all very much for your time, both now and in the past,

Matt

fruitfly
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by fruitfly »

The best advice I received about learning about wine was to write notes on every wine you taste. When I developed a coffee habit, I did the same thing, except I recorded bean origin, roast, what I tasted, grind setting, machine settings, and ratio. For me, just paying focused attention, plus going back and reading my notes made a big difference. It now takes far fewer shots to dial in a new coffee than it used to.
★ Helpful

mgrayson (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by mgrayson (original poster) replying to fruitfly »