Espresso equipment bloopers

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
HB
Admin

#1: Post by HB »

My profession isn't product design, but I have been writing software for a couple decades and have spent countless hours thinking about usability. For this reason, it really grates on my nerves when confronted with poorly designed espresso equipment. This morning was one of those times.

It began at our usual Friday get-together at Counter Culture Coffee's espresso lab. I had arrived extra early to do some tests comparing the Baratza Vario and the Mazzer Robur (if interested in more details, see Baratza Vario Grinder - First Look). In my opinion, the Vario represents one extreme of the product design spectrum: Intuitive interface, good looks, and generally practical features. The front panel's button mania and perpetual bright blue LED costs it subtlety points, but hey, nobody will question the assertion that Baratza did their homework. In sharp contrast, the La Marzocco GS/3, which benefited from years of prototype feedback, entered the market with what I consider obvious oversights in good user interface design. I called them out in the conclusion to One week with the La Marzocco GS3: