Do people understand your passion for "the ultimate espresso"?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.

Do people understand your passion for "the ultimate espresso"?

Yes
15%
Some do, but most don't
63%
No
19%
N/A, not seeking "the ultimate espresso"
4%

Total votes: 54

Spironski

#1: Post by Spironski »

Yeah, what is insanity? In a way I think all you people here at HB are insane! Or is it "just" passion?

I think I have to elaborate, not being in the US: I am a passionate person. I am a professional artist, and living in the Netherlands you have to be insane to be an artist. We are the lowest of the lowest here. I have to have a job besides, in a shop (me for artists supplies) as has almost every artist in this country, and my monthly income is something like some people here at HB earn in two hours. But I don't want to complain, it's my choice.

But being the person that I am, I love the good life. I love to "tickle" all my senses. Hearing: I love good music, I know a lot about it and I have a very good hifi-set. Feeling: ehh, yes I love my girlfriend (she is a professional masseuse :-)). Seeing: like I said: I am an artist, but I also love to watch something like the colour of the sky. Smelling and Tasting: that is my main hobby! I love to cook, I keep like 20 malt whiskies and like to smoke a Cuban cigar now and then after diner, and (we are at Home-Barista, right?), make an awesome espresso with it!

I really can feel happy with my cigar, dark chocolate, malt whisky and espresso.

But people around me think I am insane. "Ah yes, that's him, with his passionate hobbies". "How can he afford those expensive things while he has no money at all?" (sometimes I wonder about that also :-)). Most people around me do not seem to understand my passion for something really really good. For my pursuit for perfection, for something without compromises (which I think art is all about).