Torn on which roaster? (Aillio Bullet, Crop to Cup Arc 800g, Mill City/North 500g)

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
JScottTuck

#1: Post by JScottTuck »

I know this is a pretty popular debate, and I've read everything I can find on here, and every other place I can find on Google.

Here's the deal, I'm a hobbyist who has no intentions of ever opening a roastery. I have been roasting at home for 4 years, and have used a hand crank popper and heat gun/bread machine. I'm ready to take my hobby to the next level. I don't want to spend more than $5,000.

I first looked at the Bullet, but it looks like it may lack some of the manual control of a traditional drum roaster. I'm also worried about what happens if it breaks. I believe Aillio is relatively new, so I wonder if 10 years down the road, if the company goes out of business, would I be able to repair it if it breaks.

Next, is the Arc roaster from C2C. From what I understand, this is a rebranded HB-M6 from China. I have the same concerns about what if it breaks 10 years down the road? Can I find parts to repair? I'm guessing it likely has less electronics to go bad. I can't find much information about the longevity online. It looks nice, and I love that it has a dedicated cooling fan, and an agitation arm, something that the other two roasters lack, from what I can tell.

Finally, the Mill City 500g. Obviously, the most expensive of the three roasters. It lacks the agitation arm, it is also assembled in China, but it looks like Mill City support is great, and I know they have been around for quite some time. I'm assuming it would be fairly easy to find parts to repair this one.

Any thoughts/experience would be greatly appreciated!

Abecker

#2: Post by Abecker »