Thoughts/suggestions on new (to me) DIY roaster...

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
jscott14

#1: Post by jscott14 »

I am somewhat new to home roasting (having cut my teeth on the original Behmor 1600), but recently found what I perceived to be a good deal on a custom-built drum roaster. This roaster was built for a coffee shop who roasted their own beans for a few years with it, but they finally outgrew it. It is a well-built, heavy machine, and was ADVERTISED as a 1kg unit. However, based on drum size and comparing that to, say, RK Drums, I'm wondering if it might have a slightly larger capacity. The drum is 15" in length by 9" diameter.

Question 1: based on the 15" x 9" drum, does a 1kg load sound right? (A "4 lb" RK drum is only 12" x 8".)

The unit is a propane/natural gas burner. It's lit electronically by a RobertShaw commercial pilot light re-light system. The drum is driven by a 110v Dayton shaded pole 1/20hp gearmotor turning at 30 RPM.

My more pressing question has to do with airflow (or possible lack thereof). I'll post pictures below to help illustrate, but as I've read other posts on this forum, the main drawback of, say, an RK drum set up is the LACK OF AIRFLOW. The design of this unit does not have a fan, but rather convection-based air movement... cold air intake low on one side of the unit, then a chimney up high on the other side. Here are a couple of exterior views of the unit (excuse my messy garage):

Hopefully those two pictures help paint a visual image of the main design aspects of the roaster. I'd now like to give a better view of the perforated air intake in the lower-right of the picture above. This happens below the motor, and right by where the main gas line (pipe) enters the interior of the roaster:

As you can see, it's a pretty basic needle valve gas control with a perforated (and "hooded") fresh air intake right above it.