Thoughts about my roast profile?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Zoey

#1: Post by Zoey »

I'm looking for a little feedback about one of my roasting profiles. I've been roasting for more than 10 years, but never really gave a second thought about what I was doing. Until recently, I just tossed about 3/4 of a cup of whatever beans (sometimes a mixture) into the roaster and followed the same profile day in and day out. I'd like to actually start thinking and learning more about what I'm doing, and how I'm affecting what's in the cup.

I have the feeling that I'm hitting first crack a little too soon. If this is the case, I *think* I need to keep my drop temperature the same, but either add heat more slowly, or introduce more air so as to slow the roast down a bit? I very well may be wrong about the whole thing though, so I'd love to hear any and all thoughts.

Here's my roaster:

It's a drum sample roaster (100g) hard-plumbed to natural gas. It's got a thermometer in the upper part of the drum, but doesn't give me bean temperatures, so I basically use it to help me determine when the machine is warmed up. For bean temperature monitoring I use an IR gun, which I point into the drum at the beans in the same location every time. Not ideal, but I don't know of a better way.

Air flow is controlled by a lever on the right side of the machine. An HVAC fan draws air from the roasting chamber.

I cool the beans to room temperature within about 45 seconds by sucking air through the bottom of the cooling tray (removable) with my big shop vac.

And here's my roast profile (typed out on Mac Pages):

This batch was a Yemen Haraaz A (tree dried). 100g. First crack was at 6 minutes 9 seconds, and dropped at 9 minutes. 2nd crack started at 9 minutes. The majority of my beverages are straight espresso and espresso/milk based drinks.