Texmachina, GC7 et al.

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
rynegold

#1: Post by rynegold »

What kind of Roasters are you using? I read your posts about various things your roasting, temperatures Etc... Just wondering what kind of machines you people are using? Not just these two posters but any of you who care to respond. I am using the old behmor 1600... And it just seems to get worse and worse. I've tried all the tricks that I've heard of in the past to make it work better, but currently with a P1 profile, I have to roast pretty much the max allowed in added time, to get a decent dark roast with just about any bean.

GC7

#2: Post by GC7 »

Hi Mitch

My roaster has not changed for quite a few years. I use an old HotTop B manual model that I have modified in several simple ways to give me reproducible roasts that please me and my family and friends. I'm a scientist by trade and at work I use computer modeling and all kinds of genomic applications and hardware. At home for this hobby I like to keep it simple with programmed profiles manually modified by control of voltage, temperature and somewhat by smell and time. I have resisted automated computer control and graphing along with too much detailed analysis. I do write down time to FC, development and overall time and final temperature of all roasts.

I have insulated my drum. There is an old post documenting this.

I have a bean temperature probe installed through the bean chute using the Randy G template. It can download data but I generally just use the continuous thermometer.

Critically I have a big Variac attached to a KillAWatt to monitor voltage. I've found that a 1V change in line voltage can make a very big difference in profiles and heat output. I sit there and strictly keep the voltage where I know my profile will get me where I want when I want.

That's about it.

Advertisement
badperson

#3: Post by badperson »