A solid, catch-all, Hottop espresso roast profile?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
coffee.me

#1: Post by coffee.me »

Got a Hottop-B, an Omega HH506RA and couple thermocouples recently and started experimenting with this baby. I'm no expert roaster, taster or barista, but I think I found a roast profile for espresso that seems to work for many bean types. By posting this I'm hoping to get comments on possible improvements to this profile.

Thermocouples:

The environment tc is placed around the center of the hottop drum without touching the rod. The bean tc is placed about 1cm away from the drum and ~1.5cm from the back wall of the roasting chamber; it's always in the bean mass.

The data:

225g coffee beans
F = fan speed (0=off, 4=max)
P = element power (0=off, 10=max)
red line = env tc temp (logged every 5 seconds)
brown line = bean tc temp (logged every 5 seconds)
blue line = temp reading from hottop's display (noted every minute)
time = logging starts from 25:00 and ends at ~13:40
beans dropped at 24:30.
total roasting time = 10:50
First crack period is highlighted in gray.
Second crack just started at ~13:40, beans dumped.

In this profile I tried to apply my understanding from reading the roasting threads on H-B. In case you're a n00b, like myself, please pay attention to: "no expert", "tried" and "understanding" :lol:

Gurus, any tips?

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

Some nice work on the TC placement and the logging. Your temperatures seem to be more accurate than the HT sensor's, however, it's good to see that the HT sensor is highly correlated, so that it's profiling can be made accurate.