Learning to Roast with Small Batches on Larger Roasters

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Moxiechef
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by Moxiechef »

So, I'm looking at starting to roast. My end goal would be to be able to start a little business for my wife having a stand at a farmers market(She spent 12 years with Caribou in the heart of the "2nd Wave"). We would take a GS/3 for espresso drinks, do pourovers, sell cold brew and whole beans(take a bulk grinder too).

Eventually, we'd probably sell about another 20# a week or so to one of our restaurants for espresso and a few friends and such.

I've never roasted a bean in my life but I've been a chef/cook/restaurateur for the last 30 years. So, I'm decently confident that I can learn the craft somewhat.

I currently have two used roasters I'm looking at. One is a USRC 1#er and the other is a Diedrich IR-2.5, which specs say can roast from 250g to 2.5K. I'm sure that as the business grows, I'd wish for a larger roaster BUT in the beginning, I want to be able to learn to roast without wasting a lot beans. So my big question is, can you successfully learn to roast on the IR-2.5 in 250g or 500g batches? If not, then I think I'll lean towards the USRC 1# and sell it once I gain some roasting skills.

Thoughts??

Thanks,

JB

keno

#2: Post by keno »

You can learn to roast with smaller batches but depending upon how small and the design of the machine your probe readings may become especially sensitive to changes in temp and airflow, unreliable, or you may not get bean temp readings at all if the probe isn't in the bean mass. But even so you can learn about the phases of roasting and learn how to roast by sight sound and smell - which is an important part of learning how to roast. Then, as you get more comfortable with it, you can switch to roasting larger batches.