Scandinavian roast profile

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Almico

#1: Post by Almico »

Lately I've been daring myself to roast coffee lighter and lighter. I'm down to the 12% DTR range and still haven't hit the "underdeveloped" bottom.

I thought I did yesterday with a dense El Salvador. I've been roasting this coffee for a few months and it has become a favorite at the bar. I made an Americano right out of the cooling bin and I got an initial hint of "grass", but it morphed quickly into a pleasant acidity. Second sip, same thing. I was hoping a little rest might smooth it out. I made another this morning and it was better.

But it was the batch brew I made at the bar this afternoon that really surprised me. It was spectacular. Nice medium body, even a hint of chocolate, but a huge green apple/kiwi acidity with enough sweetness that it just danced around my mouth and made me smile. It was one of those times I regretted that coffee has caffeine, because I just wanted more.

I made my manager taste some, and although she's more of a med/dark coffee person, she picked out the sour apple immediately and drank the whole cup. Hum...

It just so happens that Royal Coffee was doing another webinar and had Joanna Alm of Drop Coffee in Sweden on talking about roast profiles. Although they spent a lot more time chatting and didn't dive too deep into roast profiling, I still gleaned a few tidbits. Here is the vid:

And this is the roast profile they were discussing.

I annotated the horizontal and vertical lines to estimate dry and the see 1C on the RoR.

One thing that struck me was the ~4:45 time to dry, 0:51/8% DTR and 10:21 total. I had been doing roasts with 5:00 to dry, 12% DTRs @ 1:20, but total roast times under 9:00. How the heck was this roast stretching out 1:30 longer?