Roastmaster thermometer compatibility

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
User avatar
slipchuck
Posts: 236
Joined: Apr 12, 2017, 11:36 am

Postby slipchuck » Oct 12, 2017, 8:05 pm

Will this thermometer work with Roastmaster software?
If so, how?

https://m.ebay.ca/itm/252920977476?_mwBanner=1

Thanks

Randy
Family first

User avatar
[creative nickname]
Posts: 1513
Joined: Jun 26, 2013, 12:25 am

Postby [creative nickname] » Oct 12, 2017, 8:16 pm

Since Roastmaster is an iOS only app, you'll need a way to get your thermocouple signals turned into inputs that an iphone or ipad can interpret. The standard way to do this is to use a thermocouple setup that outputs via a bluetooth signal -- Rainfrog currently recommends this one:

http://www.thermoworks.com/ThermaQ-Blue?tw=RoastmasterApp

Alternatively you could try to find a thermocouple that outputs its signal via a lightning cable, but I've never tried to set that up so I'm not sure how hard it might be to get the app to accept it as an input. I'd suggest you contact Rainfrog directly for guidance if you want to go that route.
LMWDP #435

User avatar
turtle
Posts: 424
Joined: Jun 27, 2013, 5:43 pm

Postby turtle » Oct 12, 2017, 8:21 pm

It does not appear to have any type of output.

You can read the temps and manually enter the data into roastlogger but there is no way to get that meter to talk to a computer.

here is the list of compatible input devices for Artisan http://roastlogger.co.uk/coffee/roastlo ... tails.html You should be able to locate a list for roast logger

Amprobe TMD-56 is what I use but I use Artisan not roast loger.

Two probe inputs from the roaster and USB output to my laptop

https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_odkw=am ... 6&_sacat=0

Image
Mick - Drinking in life one cup at a time
I'd rather be roasting coffee

User avatar
slipchuck
Posts: 236
Joined: Apr 12, 2017, 11:36 am

Postby slipchuck » Oct 12, 2017, 8:22 pm

[creative nickname] wrote:Since Roastmaster is an iOS only app, you'll need a way to get your thermocouple signals turned into inputs that an iphone or ipad can interpret. The standard way to do this is to use a thermocouple setup that outputs via a bluetooth signal -- Rainfrog currently recommends this one:

http://www.thermoworks.com/ThermaQ-Blue?tw=RoastmasterApp

Alternatively you could try to find a thermocouple that outputs its signal via a lightning cable, but I've never tried to set that up so I'm not sure how hard it might be to get the app to accept it as an input. I'd suggest you contact Rainfrog directly for guidance if you want to go that route.

Thanks
Wow that price is way too much for me if I want to stay married :)
Are there any cheap knock offs?

Randy
Family first

User avatar
slipchuck
Posts: 236
Joined: Apr 12, 2017, 11:36 am

Postby slipchuck » Oct 12, 2017, 8:24 pm

turtle wrote:It does not appear to have any type of output.

You can read the temps and manually enter the data into roastlogger but there is no way to get that meter to talk to a computer.

Amprobe TMD-56 is what I use.

Two probe inputs from the roaster and USB output to my laptop

https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_odkw=am ... 6&_sacat=0

<image>

Thanks for the help. I think I will have to record the old fashioned way :)

Randy
Family first

Séb
Posts: 289
Joined: May 13, 2014, 2:28 pm

Postby Séb » Oct 13, 2017, 4:31 pm

I use Roastmaster on my Ipad with a Range probe and it works really good. However there is about 8F difference between the reading of my Range Probe to a second probe that i use that is exactly at the same location in the beans mass. I might just setup an offset in Roastmaster to have closer reading. The Range probe is around $60usd.

If you check on Roastmaster app website, they give you all the info you may need to get started: https://rainfroginc.com/documentation-l ... ta-logging

 
Sponsored by counterculturecoffee.com
www.counterculturecoffee.com: coffee driven people, people driven coffee